Nominations submitted for London Bangla Press Club election to be held on 27 January

Muhammed Shahed Rahman:

The largest press club of Bengali journalists in the UK ‘London Bangla Press Club’s’ election will be held on 27 January 2019, at the East London Impressions venue.

The last day of submitting nominations for the election was on Wednesday 9 January.

Candidates interested in participating in the election have already completed their nominations. A total of 30 nominations have been submitted for 15 posts.

Among them, there are 2 candidates for each editorial post and 12 candidates for 6 EC members. The elected members of the Press Club will take the responsibility for the year 2019-20.

Those who have submitted nominations are: for the post of President Syed Nahas Pasha and former General Secretary Mohammad Emdadul Haque Chowdhury, for Vice President Mohammad Abdus Sattar and Barrister Tarek Chowdhury, for the post of General Secretary Dr Anisur Rahman Anis and Mohammad Jubair, for the post of Asst General Secretary Mohammad Subhan and Matiur Rahman Chowdhury, for the post of treasurer ASM Masum and Abdul Qadir Murad, for the post of Communications Secretary Mohammad Abdul Qaiyum and Zakir Hossain Koyes, for the post of Training and Research Secretary Abdul Ahad Chowdhury Babu and Ibrahim Khalil, for the post of Technology Secretary Saleh Ahmad and Anwar Shahjahan, for the post of Event and Facility Secretary Rezaul Karim Mridha and Azhar Bhuiyan and for the post of EC members Imran Ahmad, Jewel Raj, Qayum Abdullah, Shahnaz Sultana, Rupi Amin, Poli Rahman, Rahmat Ali, Habibur Rahman, Sarwar Hossain, Touhid Ahmed, Nazmul Hossain and Ruman Bakht Chowdhury. However, the last date for nomination withdrawal is Saturday 12 January 2019.

List of confirmed candidates will be published on Monday, 14 January.

It is to be mentioned that the London Press Club was established in the United Kingdom in 1993 as a platform of unity for the UK based Bengali newspapers, tvs and other Bengali speaking media.

According to the official information of the London Press Club, the AGM will be held on 27 January 2019, at the East London Impressions venue from 12 noon. Voting will begin at 2:30 pm on that day. It will run continuously until 6pm. The AGM will take place in the presence of journalists, teachers, cultural activists, businessmen and dignitaries.

It is assumed that the results will be announced by 11:00 pm and exchange of greetings will take place of the newly elected and non-elected of London Bangla Press Club.

Related Articles

Back to top button